Login Register

Harlow Running Club hold their annual awards to celebrate the year's achievements

By Harlow Star  |  Posted: February 15, 2017

Harlow Runners Club

CELEBRATION: Harlow Runners Club celebrate their achievements with their annual awards evening

Comments (0)

Harlow Running Club held their annual awards evening over the weekend to celebrate the achievement of the runners for the past year.

There were different award categories from Team Captain Awards, Club Championship Awards, Handicap Awards, the Ultra Distance Award, Club Person of the Year and the Triathlon Cub awards.

The captains of the men and women's teams were given the opportunity to award runners in their teams who had performed well over the past year, choosing members for several different categories. The winners of the Team Captain Awards were:

Team Captain Awards:

Female Road Runner – Wendy Schroder

Male Road Runner – Rob Lowe

Female Cross Country – Anna Robey

Male Cross Country – Rich Hynes

Most Consistent Female – Michelle Hyde

Most Consistent Male – Martyn Coulter

Most Improved Female – Sharon Wright

Most Improved Male – Paul Schroeder

Most Improved New Female – Laura Jephcott

Most Improved New Male – Afewerk Rossom

The Club Championship Awards are held throughout the calendar, over a total 20 specified races of various distances and terrain, with a runner's 10 best performances counting towards the final positions. Performances are based on age graded WAVA (World Association of Veteran Athletes) calculations, theoretically putting all age groups on an equal footing. The Championship is also used to decide the Club's ten Age Category awards. The winners of the Club Championship and Age Category awards were:

Club Championship Awards:

Club Championship Male Winner – John Tennant

Club Championship Female Winner – Carinne Jay

Club Championship Male Runner-Up – Colin Moody

Club Championship Female Runner Up- Debby Barry

Age Category Awards:

Female Senior – Catherine Ridge

Male Senior – Alex Smith

Female V35 – Kerry Mavris

Male V40 – Jamie Jephcott

Female V45 – Sandy Rust

Male V50 – Andy Bradley

Female V55 – Melanie Harris

Male V60 – Alan Cootes

Female V65 – Pauline Galoppi

Male V70 – Peter Mills

The Running Club also handed out awards for members participating in triathlon competitions all year long. The winners of the Triathlon Cub Awards were:

Triathlon Cub Awards:

Best Overall Female Triathlete – Anna Robey

Best Overall Male Triathlete – Ben Usher

Most Improved Female Triathlete – Faith Jackson

Most Improved Male Triathlete – Andrew Ramage

There were also awards for the winners of the Handicap race series, where Janice Page was the Handicap Series Female Winner and Terry Ridge was the winner of the Male Handicap Series Winner.

Lastly, the Harlow Running Club gave out the Ultra Distance Award for Sandi Rust, and Colin Moody was given Club Person of the Year.

Read more from Harlow Star

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters


Hot Jobs